Payroll Services

Press Releases

Press Release - 12/20/99

MEMORANDUM
TO: Sue Hinz
FROM: Alice Smethurst
DATE: December 20, 1999
SUBJECT: WSU Week
Please include the following items in the WSU Week at your earliest convenience:

W-4 FORM – IRS CERTIFICATE OF WITHHOLDING

The Internal Revenue Service requires all employees who claimed total exemption from federal income taxes in calendar year 1999 to refile a new W-4 Form with Payroll Services no later than February 15, 2000. If any employee had claimed total exemption from federal income tax during 1999 and fails to refile a 2000 W-4 Form at Payroll Services by February 15, 2000, the IRS requires Payroll Services to automatically change the employee’s withholding exemption to Single with zero withholding allowances.

W-2 WAGE AND TAX STATEMENTS

The W-2 Form Wage and Tax Statements will be mailed to your home address on approximately January 15, 2000.

OASI MAXIMUM FOR 2000

The maximum Social Security OASI gross wages will increase from $72,600 to $76,200. The combined percentage rate of 7.65% remains the same for 2000 for OASI and Medicare Tax.

REIMBURSEMENT FOR UNUSED SICK LEAVE

Eligible employees whose sick leave balance exceeds 480 hours may elect to be reimbursed for sick leave accumulated, but not used in calendar year 1999. Employees eligible for a reimbursement will be paid one hour for every four hours of unused sick leave earned in 1999.

Application for reimbursements should be made in accordance with Section 60.41.1 of the Business Policies and Procedures Manual. Classified employees should submit a separate Time Report and eligible faculty and administrative and professional employees must submit a separate Time Report or Leave Report in order to request reimbursement.

In accordance with RCW 251-22-124, payment must be made in January. The deadline for receipt of the Time Report or Leave Report in Payroll Services is Monday, January 24, 2000.

GRADUATE TUITION PAYROLL DEDUCTION AUTHORIZATION FORMS – 2000 SPRING SEMESTER PROCEDURES

In an effort to improve the process and provide greater efficiency to graduate students desiring payroll deductions for tuition and other fees, we have implemented the following procedures for the 2000 Spring Semester:

During November all four hundred (400) graduate students who had authorized a payroll deduction for the 1999 Fall Semester were mailed a new authorization form for the 2000 Spring Semester. Graduate students whose appointment ends December 31, 1999, were instructed to check with their department about the renewal of their appointment. Graduate authorization forms returned for the 2000 Spring Semester, which do not have renewed appointments, will not be honored.

If the graduate student wanted payroll deduction to continue for the 2000 Spring Semester, they were to immediately sign and return the form to Payroll Services. Deadline for receipt of forms is January 28, 2000.

Graduate students who are brand new appointees for the 2000 Spring Semester or graduate students who did not have a payroll deduction in the 1999 Fall Semester and desire a deduction in the 2000 Spring Semester will need to call Payroll Services (335-1277) or send an e-mail to alice@wsu.edu and request a deduction form be created. If the graduate appointment is in the HEPPS System, a Payroll Deduction Authorization form will be created within 24 hours. The graduate student must come to Payroll Services, Room 236 French Administration Building, to sign the form. Forms authorizing payroll deductions of graduate fees must be received by Payroll Services no later than January 28, 2000.

2000 PAY DAYS

Monday January 10, 2000 Monday July 10, 2000
Tuesday January 25, 2000 Tuesday July 25, 2000
Thursday February 10, 2000 Thursday August 10, 2000
Friday February 25, 2000 Friday August 25, 2000
Friday March 10, 2000 Monday September 11,2000
Friday March 24,2000 Monday September 25, 2000
Monday April 10, 2000 Tuesday October 10, 2000
Tuesday April 25, 2000 Wednesday October 25, 2000
Wednesday May 10, 2000 Thursday November 9, 2000
Thursday May 25, 2000 Wednesday November 22, 2000
Friday June 9, 2000 Monday December 11, 2000
Monday June 26, 2000 Friday December 22,2000

FEDERAL EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT RATES

Effective January 1, 2000, the retirement deduction rates for federal employees change as indicated below:

FROM TO
Civil Service Retirement (CSRS) 7.25% 7.40%
Federal Employees Retirement (FERS) 1.05% 1.20%

MINIMUM WAGE RATE INCREASE

Effective January 1, 2000, the minimum wage rate increases to $6.50 per hour. See Karen Kruse, Human Resource Services, for details.

SUPPLEMENTAL PENSION DEDUCTION

The supplemental pension deduction for those employees who itemize their income taxes on Schedule A, the 1999 amount is $47.23 (160 hours per month times 12 months times .0246).

 

 
 
Payroll Services, PO Box 641024, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-1024, 509-335-9575, Contact Us
Counter